JAN 27: Calidore String Quartet: Intimate Classics | Center for the Arts, Escondido Skip Navigation

Calidore String Quartet: Intimate Classics
Buy Tickets Now
Calidore String Quartet: Intimate Classics

Presented by the California Center for the Arts, Escondido. Generously sponsored by Mrs. Lois Brossart.

Venue: Center Theater


* Fees will be assessed on phone and online orders. Learn more...

The Calidore String Quartet’s “deep reserves of virtuosity and irrepressible dramatic instinct” (New York Times) and “balance of intellect and expression” (Los Angeles Times) has won them accolades across the globe and firmly established them as one of the finest chamber music ensembles performing today. After their Kennedy Center debut the Washington Post proclaimed that “Four more individual musicians are unimaginable, yet these speak, breathe, think and feel as one…The grateful audience left enriched and, I suspect, a little more human than it arrived.” The Calidore String Quartet – violinists Jeffrey Myers and Ryan Meehan, violist Jeremy Berry, and cellist Estelle Choi – have garnered the most prestigious prizes for chamber music in North America and Europe especially with their most recent award of the 2018 Avery Fisher Career Grant. The Calidore made international headlines as the winner of the $100,000 Grand-Prize of the 2016 and inaugural M-Prize International Chamber Music Competition, the largest prize for chamber music in the world. Also in 2016, the quartet became the first North American ensemble to win the Borletti-Buitoni Trust Fellowship and was named BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artistsan honor that brings with it recordings, international radio broadcasts and appearances in Britain’s most prominent venues and festivals. Most recently in 2017 the Calidore was honored with the Lincoln Center Emerging Artist Award. The 2017-18 season continues the Calidore’s three year residency with the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center’s CMS Two program.


HAYDN (1732-1809)
Quartet in F Major, Op. 77, No. 2
Allegro moderato
Menuetto: Presto, ma non troppo
Finale: Vivace assai

J.S. BACH (1685-1750)
Selections from The Art of Fugue, BWV. 1080
Contrapunctus 1
Contrapunctus 2
Contrapunctus 4
Contrapunctus 8
Contrapunctus 9
Canon alla Ottava
Contrapunctus 14


BEETHOVEN (1770-1827)
Quartet in C-sharp minor, Op. 131
Adagio, ma non troppo e molto espressivo
Allegro molto vivace
Allegro moderato
Andante, ma non troppo e molto cantabile
Adagio quasi un poco andante


Buy Tickets

Buy tickets online (below), or at the Center ticket office, or by calling 800.988.4253. The ticket office is open Tue. – Sat. 12–6 PM, and Sun. 12–5 PM.

Share This Event: